Award ceremonies at the Mannheim University of Applied Sciences for students and graduates

One of the most traditional events at Mannheim University of Applied Sciences has been the annual University Day for many decades. During the Hochschultag, students and graduates* of the university are honored who have distinguished themselves in the past year through outstanding academic achievements, but also through extracurricular and social commitment. Normally, the event takes place in the university's auditorium. But this year Corona is throwing a wrench in the plans, and an event with more than two hundred invited guests is not possible.

But extraordinary times call for new formats. On 02.12.2020, the university was able to distribute prizes totaling 18,750 euros to 13 students and graduates* online. At the separate meetings for each prize, the prize donors and the prize winners were connected online via Webex. It was a special pleasure for the Rector, Prof. Dr. Astrid Hedtke-Becker, who was able to attend many of the award ceremonies personally, that the Karin and Carl-Heinrich Esser Foundation provided two new prizes for students of the Faculty of Social Sciences this year. The award ceremonies were recorded for the portal Vimeo and can be viewed there.

To the recording

Prizes for the 2019/20 academic year were awarded to:

Fritz Leonhard Reuther Prize in the amount of 2500 euros.
Kim Janina Sigmund, M.Sc., presented by Prof. Dr. Mario Mezler, AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. KG

Prize of the Karl Völker Foundation in the amount of 2500 Euro
Lars Erlbeck, M.Sc., presented by Prof. Dr. Mathias Hafner, Prorector

Carl-Isambert-Prize in the amount of 2500 Euro
Dirk Wössner, M.Sc., presented by Thorsten Siebert, TÜV SÜD Industrie Service GmbH

DAAD Prize in the amount of 1000 Euro
Anderssa Baierle Baldissera, presented by Prof. Dr. Thomas Schüssler, Prorector

Two BASF SE sponsorship awards of €1000 each
Indira Yadav and Robin Schilg, presented by Lode Geerts, BASF SE

Pepperl+Fuchs sponsorship award in the amount of 1000 euros
Benedikt Uriel, presented by Alexander Stuntz, Pepperl+Fuchs SE

Java Informatics Excellence Award in the amount of 500 euros
Florian Zirker, M.Sc., presented by Steffen Schluff, Trivadis Germany GmbH

Four prizes of SKF GmbH in the amount of 1500 Euro each
Michaela Schaule, M.Sc., Tim Moser, B. Sc., Jan König M.Sc.and Fabian Lätzsch presented by Michael Mees, SKF Lubrication Systems Germany GmbH

Two prizes from the Karin & Carl-Heinrich Esser Foundation in the amount of 750 euros each
Tanja Balkhausen, presented by Prof. Dr. Marion Baldus - the second prize will be awarded during the graduation ceremony of the Faculty of Social Sciences.